Cultural Competence: Racial Asian Slurs

Click ->  Asian Slurs to see a list of Asian slurs you should avoid. If the link doesn’t work the words do not work, click the link below.

http://www.rsdb.org/race/asians

I have recently been asked to partake in a discussion about Non-Asians Interested in Asian Culture. This topic is personally interesting to me for multiple reasons:

1. I am Non-Asian: As many of you can see by the pictures posted with some of my blogs, Externally, I am a black male. I am by far, the most obvious of Non-Asian Ethnicity around the world.  I stand out in any crowd that is not of the same skin coloration, or even similar coloration as myself.

2. I deeply love Asian culture: Asian culture has been in my life for as long as I can remember anything. It started small with martial arts movies, but then grew as I got older and learned to identify different morals and values for myself. Some of these values just happened to overlap with an Asian cultural practice, and that made it all the better for me.

3. Knowledge and Success: Ever heard, or read the saying “Keep your friends close, but your enemies closer”? That really doesn’t have anything to do with this bullet title, but the concept behind it does, I do not see Asians as an enemy. I do understand that understanding someone, or something means getting close to it, and learning it’s ways. This goes for anything, especially language and culture. The more you know, the more successful you can be in life.

Having an interest in another culture doesn’t make me less American, it just makes me curious about the world around us. Why do we learn about different places in geography classes if we never want to know about them? What good does it do us to know about China, Chile, or even London if we are completely content with being interested in American culture; which is really a mutt culture if you take the time to reflect on it. A lot of the things we take for granted as American are from countries.

Ever dislike a food the “typical American” (however it is defined now) is supposed to love, and someone told you “You’re not American”? Take Pizza as an example. Pizza is originally Italian. Hamburgers are German. Ever wonder why they are called Hamburgers when they are made from beef? Just stating the (possibly) barely known facts.

So, when you hear something about an ethnicity different from your own, look it up and see if it is offensive. It could be something very simple and even commonly used.

 

Leave a Reply

